Accelerating progress toward the elimination of HAIs.

The APIC® Program of Distinction Standards of Excellence for Infection Prevention and Control are the first of their kind – a set of standards developed by subject matter experts in infection prevention and control on behalf of a leading professional association in the field.

These standards, upon which the program is based, were developed and vetted by leading infection preventionists in the field, largely former APIC officers and past presidents. The standards are the requirements for demonstrating excellence in infection prevention and control practice in an acute care facility, and are organized in the following nine (9) areas:

  • Surveillance
  • Hand hygiene
  • Unusual occurrence and outbreak investigation
  • Isolation practices
  • Safe patient equipment
  • Safe patient environment
  • Emergency management
  • Employee health
  • Antibiotic stewardship