How the Program Works

The APIC® Program of Distinction designation lasts for three years. Here are the steps to becoming designated.

Step 1: Eligibility Requirements

Eligible facilities are general acute care facilities, including specialty facilities, that meet certain criteria.  Review the eligibility requirements to ensure that your facility or system meets the basic criteria.

Step 2: Self-Assessment

It is strongly recommended that interested applicants complete the self-assessment tool prior to submitting an application.  The self-assessment tool, which can be downloaded at no cost, was designed to provide information on existing gaps in the applicant’s infection prevention and control program. Any identified gaps should be addressed prior to applying.

Complete the self-assessment tool

Step 3: Application

If a facility/system meets the eligibility requirements and identifies no major gaps via the self-assessment exercise, they are encouraged to submit an application. See Application for more information. See Fees for an estimate of costs for participation. All information collected is kept confidential between the facility point-of-contact and the facility’s specific Program of Distinction team of appraisers.

Step 4. Onsite Assessment (Invitation)

If the application receives a score above the designated minimum threshold, the facility or system is invited to the next phase: an onsite assessment with APIC® Program of Distinction appraisers. Appraisers are CIC®-certified infection preventionist subject matter experts. The number of appraisers deployed and the length of the onsite assessments depends on the size of the facility or system.

Step 5. Final Determination by Committee

Once the onsite assessment is completed, a Final Determination Team will review all materials and scoring, and determine whether to grant the facility/system the Program of Distinction designation. The Final Determination Committee meets regularly throughout the year.

Step 6. Results: Designation (or Recommendations)

Facilities that earn the designation are designated as “APIC® Program of Distinction” facilities or health systems, and gain the ability to use the Program of Distinction logo in their marketing and communications outreach. An award will be provided for the facility’s recognition wall, and lapel pins for the IP Team. In addition, APIC will recognize the facility’s name in its own marketing to its 15,000 members via the APIC website, eNewsletter, Prevention Strategist magazine, and APIC Annual Conference, as well as to government and accreditation organizations, such as The Joint Commission, DNV GL, and state health department.

Read more about the value of the designation.

If the facility does not meet the range of excellence necessary to pass the onsite evaluation, the team of appraisers will provide a list of identified deficiencies, which can serve as a de facto action plan for the facility’s IPC program to increase their ability to meet the program standards.

The designation will be current for a period of three years, with monitoring documentation required annually. Organizations can reapply to renew their designation every three years.